Help Needed: Bethel

BETHEL- If you can, please come help us recover from the extensive damage to our town from Hurricane Irene. A lot of help is needed ranging from delivering food and supplies and cleaning up debris. Both harder labor and light work is needed.

Friday from 12 PM – 6 PM and Sat/Sun/Mon from 8 AM – 6 PM there will be a person in the parking lot of the Whitcomb High School/ Bethel Elementary parking lot (Pleasant Street) to coordinate work parties to identified needy neighbors. We would love any and all help. Dress to get dirty. Bring shovels, chainsaws, power washers, and other tools.

Please bring muck boots and waterproof work gloves.

This entry was posted in Helping Vermont and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Help Needed: Bethel

  1. Jennifer King says:

    My husband and I would like to help on Monday. We are from Corinth, VT. We can’t get there by 8am but will someone be there to help us later in the morning like around 9:30 – 10am? We want to help! Email me at king05039@yahoo.com or call 603-359-9794 which is my cell.

    Jen King

  2. Kat says:

    I would like to help with what I can. I have a 2yr old daughter so I’ll have to bring her. I thought I could deliver supplies with her in her carseat, or watch kids so parents can work. I have a Subaru forester and I can pack it full! We just got power back so either email or call me.
    Kat
    802-222-1605

  3. Nick says:

    I would love to help at some point this weekend- I can be there Sunday late morning- maybe earlier if I can get out of work on Saturday night. I will work as late as you need me to. I have an suv and can bring food, supplies, power tools, chainsaw, etc. I can do any kind of work that is necessary. Vermont is a very special to me, and I would like nothing more than to help in your time of need. I will be driving up from Boston. Please call or email and let me know. My cell is 617-543-0566 my email is ndustin@gmail.com

  4. Matt says:

    The map located at http://crisislanding.appspot.com/?crisis=2011_flooding_vermont indicates that Rte. 107 is closed just east of town. This map may be out of date, but I’m sure that there are other road closures to contend with. Please post directions to the high school for folks that are traveling from out of town to help and don’t know if regular routes are passable.
    Thanks,
    Matt

  5. Betsy Nelson says:

    Betsy and Ted will be arriving with a load of donations from the Burlington area late Saturday morning. We are ready to work after we unload.

  6. Maureen Pidgeon says:

    A half dozen or more of us would like to help. We work in South Burlington Vermont and our boss has given us next friday off (09/09/11) to help where ever it is needed. Do you think you will still need help by then? You can email me at maureen@lpadesign.com
    Best
    Maureen

  7. Kristen says:

    We’ll be there with all your requested tools and more….coming from Georgia, VT I heard that the town hall is now the meeting place, is that right or not? please post directions so there’s no lost time trying to figure out where to go. Looking forward to it! kristen and dave watson

  8. Kristen says:

    Please tell us what you need for food and supply delivery. Should we bring mtn. bikes or just our truck is needed?

  9. Matt says:

    Here is an update for volunteers, from a volunteer. The volunteer coordinator is located in the municipal building in Bethel, they start staffing around 9:00. You can stop by there with questions or for work assignments. I was told to drive up River road and look for an opportunity to help out, which I did and spent the day mucking out a basement. Team up if you can, flat bottom shovels and buckets work best for clean-outs and wear work gloves so that you don’t get cut. Just stop and ask if folks need help, they will be more than willing to put you to work!

Leave a Reply

